The past never was supposed to define my future. I run from it. I hide and stay in the shadows hoping no one will know the truth behind who I am, and why I am the way I am. The web of lies is 17 years in the making. I do not choose for my children to know who their biological family is. I created a new family a new life and believed it was my own. My kids don’t know the dark that lies beneath. They have everything I was never given the chance to have. Well that is till now when everything feels like it’s all getting taken away again. I have to be the best parent and keep them warm, safe, and teach them that nothing is free in this world except our love. I am afraid that we will be truly homeless soon and that my kids will be taken from me for trying to do the best I can we are just so far in debt from past rent. I just want to buy a house own something some day. Be something but I don’t know where to begin. I was never given the opportunity to explore what do I want to be when I grow up.