By Jamie Lynn Heller

21st Century Reflection -Jamie Lynn Heller

Quarantine has forced me to look at myself more in the past year than in all the other years combined. I was bashful about it at first, remembering reprimands and accusations of vanity – (We'd sit at the long table in the formal dining room, white linens, crystal glasses, my feet swinging freely a-
bove the floor. When I’d get off rhythm, bang one against the chair leg, the sudden si- lence from the adults was a slap. Their talk jumped around above my head long past the warmth of the food I pushed around. On the far wall a mirror hung above the buffet, the safe for china and other heir- looms to be handled with care. I liked to watch us in that frame, eating, talking. It was like watching an oblong mo- vie. We were all recognize- able but from a differ- ent angle, including the girl with bangs in her eyes, slight- ly hunched over, in a dress whose collar looked stiff, scratchy. The girl outside me didn’t look the same as I thought she should. I watched my own mouth as I spoke, tried to catch a glimpse of myself when I wasn’t looking, but after a too long moment’s slip when I put my elbows on the placemat, and corrections went unheard, they accused me of being too vain and moved me to the other side of the table where I had to look at a collection of glass birds too frozen to ever fly a- way with my thoughts.) – But now my workday consists of watching myself on a screen. Is it really a reflection when the camera captures you and then shows you back to yourself? Or is it something else? A transmission maybe? It feels like I’m in two places at once. Somehow here and there, especially when the Wi-Fi snags and my movements and voice come back to me on a time delay. I’ve learned if I log in twice I can see myself head-on and from the side partially answering the question, “How do other people see me?” (A question I’d try to answer before) I wonder if this is close to what people who have had an out of body experience have seen? This strange sensation of wondering, “Who is that” and then suddenly recognizing yourself.