By Diane

I have a dilemma. I’ve long thought of myself as a writer. Except I rarely write anything outside of my journal. I have little confidence in my ability to string together words that others would want to read. And now here’s this prompt – Get Over It. So here I am, getting over my fear of writing and submitting this piece for public perusal. After all, that’s the purpose of this blog – providing a place for writers (novices and veterans) to submit their work for all to read. I don’t have to try to write the Great American Novel or a weighty essay on What’s Wrong with Modern Society. All I need to do is write what feels, sounds, and looks right to me and click post. Once my writing is out there where anyone can see it, and the sky doesn’t fall and I don’t become an instant pariah, it’ll hopefully be easier to get over my fear of writing for others and just go for it. Maybe every month should have a national Get Over It day.