Code et cetera

Linux

elementary os logo

So I've been using #Linux here and there for many many years, but never used it as a daily driver. On my current work, we use Linux machines a lot, both physical and cloud servers, etc so I thought it would be a great idea to make the move on my work machine.

And how did it go? It's been great. One of the best decisions I've made. I feel much more productive, every tool I need its available and ready to install quickly though repositories, and the usability of the desktop is just much agile than windows. No to speak of the forced “down your throat” windows updates. The one thing I'm missing, well I'm not missing it myself, my life would be better without it but we use it at work; Skype for business. Which I have to use the android app instead of the desktop one.

And the performance is amazing, I'm using Liquorix Kernel, and everything just flies!

The distro I choose is Elementary Os and I'm really happy about it. Its based on Ubuntu stable, which is a good compromise between stability, up to date software and, well, its Ubuntu so it mostly “just works.” I wont go into distro comparisons here, but after having tried pretty much everything there is out there, Ubuntu (or a Ubuntu based distro) is what I feel most comfortable using, and know lets me focus on work rather than fixing random issues. So, why Elementary? Well, as I was saying its based on Ubuntu stable, but it has IMO a better presentation. I'm just not a big fan of the Ubuntu Gnome looks.

So, if you're on the fence, I recommend you take the plunge and give it a whirl, I think unless you need a very specif software for your work, you can benefit from running a Linux desktop on every other aspect.