/home/justxanny

programming

#programming

So it's been a while since I've actually written any code, either for fun or at work. I miss it, and of course there's the whole “use it or lose it” that happens with things you learn and don't utilize. For work, Python is my main focus and 99% of the Python written is mostly command line stuff. I've written a Flask webapp or two, but that was years ago at this point. I think in order to keep my skills sharp I'll probably find some online courses to take, or some problems to solve. Exercism comes to mind first, as it was something I was looking at for Go development as well. Work also allows me to take online courses during the workday as well, so that's an option too. It's just a matter of finding things that will engage me and keep me writing code.

As for as coding for fun goes, I've got a few different things to look at. First, I need to brush up on C for Arduino, or I could go the route of just doing MicroPython. I think MicroPython would make more sense since I already have a history with it. I'm still interested in Go, so I may start back down that road as well. It's just a matter of getting set up and actually writing code. Stay tuned, I'm sure I'll write about it more as I work on getting back on track.