Graphite #4: Sly

Good old times. I remember that a lot of movies I liked as a kid were with Silvester Stallone. The Italian Stallion, John Rambo, Judge Dredd and more. His movies reach from 1969 until nowadays (guest role in Guardian's of the Galaxy 2 a.s.o.). Most of the roles were in typical – “punch'em in the face”-movies. And he knows that. I am sure that this is why he made an homage to all his action-movies with the Expandable series. And his role there is the one I picked for my next drawing.

But before we start:

This piece is just one step on my way of mastering art. I change the media and I want to be able to create different styles of art pieces. Follow me on my journey here on Coil and on Twitter!

https://twitter.com/KassjanS

And here is the video of my drawing process. I felt like slow pounding rock music sets up the right mood for this character:

https://www.cinnamon.video/watch?v=330943262799955915

I found out that Sly exhibits his art pieces in galleries. He paints. I am going to tag him. Maybe he see's this. I'd be super stoked.

I also made an additional video with my own thoughts on the drawing process. I explain the techniques I was using and the challenges I faced. Unlock my bonus content to dive deeper into this kind of art. See you on the other side!

Continue reading with a Coil membership.