Pixelart #1: Chester “Deadeye” McKillingsworth the 3rd

Know @NickelNDime? Know NickelNDime.net? Well he programmed a 2D Jump n' Run which is Coil enabled. This game supports the inclusion of new ways of web monetization. When you have subscribed at Coil, you can play as long as you want. But the programmer gets micropayments streamed for every second you play. Cool? Cool!

I thought this way of monetization is revolutionary. And using a video game for this is totally my cup of tea! So when Nick asked me, if I want to design the main character, of course I said “YES” - in fat bold letters.

So he described to me his rough idea of who that person is but gave me all freedom to bring in my creativity. Main inspiration was his name. Chester “Deadeye” Mc Killingsworth. Sounds like a tough guy, likes it really rough guy, chest always so puffed guy. He was also supposed to be some rambo, commando type of guy (good thing my last drawing was Silvester Stallone ). So I wanted to make him look dangerous, but not crazy. His reasoning is trained into silky perfection and he is utterly lethal. I also wanted to find a reason why his nickname is “Deadeye” and I found one: He is wearing green camouflage gear to easily hide in dangerous situations. Part of his gear is his fisher hat. But Chester is also a smoker. So when he smokes a cigarette the fume stays under his fisher hat and you can only see his eyes through the smoke.

In that moment you don't see Chester anymore:

You see Deadeye.

Here is my video about the thought process of creating Chester:

https://www.cinnamon.video/watch?v=337477077236188997

The next video is about how to make him stand, jump, die and run: Run forward without a gun, run forward with a gun and run backward but aming with the gun to the other direction – because you will need all these animations within the game...actually, except the dying. I don't know why I had to draw him lying on the floor. Deadeye will never die...

https://www.cinnamon.video/watch?v=337476945384048452

Continue reading with a Coil membership.