Watercolor #1: Koi Triptych

It's weekend and it's time for another painting. My last artworks were focused on pixelart and pencil drawings. So I wanted to go back to my watercolors + colored pencil combination. I feel kind of an attraction towards creating realistic drawings or paintings but with colors and a sharp black outline. Maybe this will be the my preferred style. Maybe that's who I am. I gotta find out...

So I made a plan: I or better “we” are creating a triptych. The word has it's origin in the greek language and means “three-fold”. It is a work of art which consists of three pieces. And this Koi fish is part one. It will consist of three different Koi fishes. So in the end we will have our own little pond.

In this video you will see how I did the first Koi. The other fishes will be done with the same technique, but I actually want you to participate: I will do a livestream. Details about where or when will be released on my Twitter feed. I'd be glad to meet you there over a glass of whine or water, whatever you prefer. You will also need drawing and painting materials. At the end of the article you will find a list about what material you'll need. I will keep it as simple as possible.

But before we start:

This piece is just one step on my way of mastering art. I change the media and I want to be able to create different styles of art pieces. Follow me on my journey here on Coil and on Twitter.

https://twitter.com/KassjanS

https://twitter.com/KassjanS

And here is the video:

https://www.cinnamon.video/watch?v=366400023014934479

*Materials:*

Here are the materials, which I used for the first Koi fish and which we are going to use for the livestream (in the same order like in the video). Remember: You don't have to have all of them. You can already join the party with only pencil and paper. The more materials you have, the longer you can follow my steps during the livestream.

Fabriano Paper 300g/m² 12,5cm x 18cm

(Any type of paper will do the job – one thing: the heavier the paper is, the less wavy it gets.)

Faber Castell Pencil 2B

(Available in any stationery shop.)

Schmincke Watercolors and paint brushes

I am using the daVinci Nr.8 and the Artist's Loft Nr.10

(For the live stream: Just pick any water color you can get.)

Sakura Brushpen FB and MB

(Try to get a thin black marker.)

Faber Castell Colored Pencils

(Any colored pencils is fine.)

Faber Castell Blending stumps

(Thats for the details. Not super duper necessary.)

Caran D'Ache Luminance Pencils

I used the white one for the fish – it is for smooth blendings

(same thing here – for the details – not super necessary.)

See you in the Live Stream!

P.S.: In the subscription area you will find an additional video where I finished the painting with colored pencils!

Continue reading with a Coil membership.