Chickpea Tofu Recipe and Other Variations

The other day I tried making chickpea tofu. Usual tofu is made from soy milk, but to coagulate it it requires a bittern salt (Magnesium Chloride) for the proteins to bind. As the name suggests, it is bitter in flavour (Even in Japanese – Nigari).

Checkpea tofu can harden without this. Supposedly the texture is similar so this can be made anywhere in the world!

Ingredients

Recipe

Opinions

Well, the mouth feel is definitely tofu, and if you like tofu, this is a great alternative. Flavour wise? I always thought this with normal tofu as well, but it tastes

bland

. It tastes like pureed checkpea gruel that hospitals will use to give nutrients to old patients. Adding flavour like tsuyu or soy sauce made it better, but I think there should've been some flavour inside the tofu.

Variations

When I made this chickpea tofu, I wanted to test several variations of the recipe to see if it works. These were:

So I prepared 3 small containers to try this out. I tasted each one before the shape set so I could adjust anything before it set. Here are the results:

What to do with the leftover checkpea pulp?

In Japanese these are called okara, used for cheap, low calorie, high fiber creative recipes. It may not be the same with chickpea, but I would believe the milk extraction has increased the fiber content. Anyway, if you want to shine your poverty pantery skills, I suggest you try get creative with it. Keep in mind this leftover pulp's properties mean less binding and any dough you make will be wet, crumbly, and possibly dense without the addition of other ingredients. Here are some ideas:

#Recipes #VeganRecipes #JapaneseRecipe