Bellini C41 Colour Development Kit

#lhl #Photography #C41 #Lomo800 #FILM #GlenNevis #Knoydart #winter

I've just developed my first two 120 colour films with the Bellini C41 kit.

Water a little on the cool side at 32 deg, I had to top this up to 38 deg with water from the kettle.

Its a five stage process that's pretty intensive as you're doing it. Pre-Wash, Dev, Bleach, Fix, & Stabilise.

I have three more films to develop today. First two are hanging to dry and there are images, even looks like colour film should look. Once they're dry I'll scan & really see 😉

So, here is the first image to be scanned from today's neg's.

Looking back to Inverie, Knoydart Looking back to Inverie & Ladhar Bheinn under November snow

Camera/Lens: Mamyia RZ67 + 127mmm Sekkor Z f/3.5 Film: Lomography 800 @ 400 Dev: Bellini C41 Scan/PP: Canoscan 9000Fii / GIMP 2.10 (levels, crop and border)

The second round of the developing process was slightly less intensive and I'm sure it will become as accustomed as the B&W process I am so used to. In all it takes about 15 minutes to go through from start to hanging to dry. All films, no changes for either emulsion or speed, are developed the same. I've been developing 120 format x two rolls at a time in the AP developing tank. In some ways the colour process is a lot more straightforward than the B&W process.

Even though I have an enlarger with a colour head and could make prints, the extra cost of more chemicals and paper is not something I can either afford or need at this point in time – maybe in the future. So, all my colour negatives will be scanned and processed as part of a hybrid workflow; and, if I do wish to print a particularly good image I will send the negative off to be printed commercially.

Here are a couple more images:

Glen Nevis Glen Nevis

Glen Nevis Glen Nevis

Isle of Eigg Isle of Eigg

More can be found here.