LongHouseLife

SAILING

#LHL #SAILING #MIRRORDINGHYRESTORATION #PAKWÂCI

I finally managed to get out on the water this week.... Having not taken advantage of a few opportunities over Easter – too many other things to do around the place.!

Read more...

#lhl #Sailing #MirrorDinghyRestoration #Pakwâci

I walked over the hill back to the beach at Doune today. The weekend has been very stormy here with wind in excess of a constant 30kts, and today was the first opportunity to fetch her back.

Read more...

#lhl #Sailing #MirrorDinghyRestoration #Pakwâci

This was to be the first extended sail for Pakwâci. How far could I sail in home waters taking into account tide and wind, comfortably or not in one day..? With Westerlies of some direction forecast I would be able to reach both up and down the Sound of Sleat once out of Loch Nevis. As it was the wind in my home loch allowed me to be close hauled right up to the entrance then turn to a beam reach and head North.

Read more...

#Sailing #Restoration #MirrorDinghy

I will endeavour to keep a little update of the repairs etc here.

The boat had been under a tarp, but on the ground for a while before I was given it. It has sat up off the ground either on its launching trolly and in the garage or propped up and under a tarp outside when I needed the garage space recently. It is now on a DIY 'dolly' in the garage where I can work on it either way up as required.

Read more...