Fiestas

#100DaysToOffload – Day 38

No not the small economical Ford car. The Spanish word meaning “an event marked by festivities or celebration”. It is a word for something that doesn't really occur that often in the UK. If you're wondering what I'm on about it all started with me posting on Mastodon with a picture of my Sussex flag

Sussex flag hanging outside my house

as it is Sussex Day today. As I've lived in Sussex for more of my adult life than I've lived anywhere else I am marking Sussex Day like that. The ensuing conversation on Mastodon had me lamenting that if I were in Spain (or other countries, just using Spain as an example as I've been there a lot) there would be public celebrations, bands and some drinking going on. As I'm in the UK sadly the most that ever happens is some flags get flown and maybe some speeches get made.

Really we need to up our game but I am guessing a lot of these holidays are based on saint's days and the UK is quite a secular country it would be hard to get official sanction for them. Which is a pity. We really could do with some more public events to help bring communities together.

I am taking in the 100 Days to Offload blogging challenge set by Kev Quirk. Whilst lockdown is on do 100 blog posts to help you offload and to read what everyone else is up to.