We used to be friends

The years go by And I misremembered Which cemetery We buried you at

The years go by And your daughters are growing up fast And will never get to know you In quite the same way we knew you

The years go by And they will rob me Of how angry your Facebook rants used to be And how uncomfortable they would make me Even when I agreed with you Especially when I agreed with you

The years go by And I'm not quite sure I have your laugh 100% right In my mind

The years go by And I miss your faithfulness Although I feel You would be giving G-d a piece of your mind With respect to a thing or two

The years go by And I wanted to talk to you About so many things Even if I was bad at it

The years go by Your hospitality Is unmatched

The years go by And eventually I found your grave You have many neighbours now I should visit more often But I don't know if I will

The years go by You're already long gone Yet still slipping away from me

The years go by And I remember How annoyed you were to have Bad Romance Stuck in your head at Ding Dong Dang And now it's my karaoke mainstay And I remember How everyone did a terrible job at trying to convince you To like Ben Folds And I told you to listen to Not The Same And you thought it was OK And now it's my favourite of his

The years go by And I'm still sorry my baptism was on a Saturday And you couldn't come But maybe I'm misremembering that, too And we hadn't met yet?

The years go by And I'm crying more now Than when you died And I don't know why

The years go by Let's make music together