Pandemic Burnout=Binge-Watching Movies and Television

Well I am officially over this pandemic. It is dragging on far longer than I had ever imagined. I am getting increasingly down especially with the lack of social connections. We are also heading into a cold snap and outdoor activities are limited so I have started to binge watch television and movies to keep myself sane, well somewhat anyways.

I figured some of you are on the same page so here is what I have been watching in case you are looking for some good suggestions:

Promising Young Woman

This movie was great. It was at times hard to watch given the graphic nature of some of the scenes but worth it. I was triggered by some of the content; however, I am happy that I watched this movie. The subject may be uncomfortable and unpleasant but rape, violence and suicide are real issues that cannot be swept under the rug any longer. The storyline gets a tad bit dark but this is true with any captivating revenge storyline.

Clouds

Get your tissues out for this movie because it's a sad one. This Disney + film is based on a true story about Zach Sobiech, a high school senior who learns that his cancer has spread. Zach is faced with the reality that he only has a few months to live. This young man has such a wonderful outlook. Zach truly appreciated every single day and made the best of his time left to spend with his loved ones. He was also a talented musician that dreamed of making it big one day. He went viral right before his death and now his music and Inspiring message can live on.

Let Him Go

This film touched my soul deeply. It didn't hurt that it was also filmed in beautiful Alberta, my hometown province. The story is about a devoted couple who unconditionally love their grandson. He suddenly goes missing and has gone off the grid with his mother and new step-father. His grandparents fear for his safety and go on a journey to bring him back home. I promise this is worth watching.

Little Fires Everywhere

This miniseries is shockingly fantastic. I had little expectations when first starting this show but soon found myself hooked. It touches on many worthy subjects like racism, white privilege, male privilege, adoption, abortion and sociatal classes. The message in this movie is powerful and thought provoking. I would highly recommend checking this series out.

Bridgerton

When I heard about this show, I was honestly not in a rush to watch it; however, I am pleased that I changed my mind. The television series is based on the powerful Bridgerton family. The show is set in England during the Regency-era yet somehow the series is very risque and relatable. I must warn you, there is a lot of sex scenes and nudity throughout the season. I was even blushing during some parts because things got heated. I am not a fan of classical music but I quite enjoyed the music as there were modern covers from Taylor Swift and Billie Eilish. In this case, the show actually lives up to the hype! I cannot wait for Season 2.

Island of Bryan / Renovation Island

I absolutely loved this reality television series. A Canadian family moves to South Andros in the Bahamas to renovate a broken down resort. The Baeumler family are living my dream adventure. So when crypto pays off one day, I just might buy me an island or resort. I can totally see a reality show even, Island of XRPGORD. The family work together as a team and do one heck of a good job despite the many obstacles along the way. The camera crews follow along as this 6 month journey extends to well over a year. The finished product is amazing and I enjoyed every second of getting to watch along. So when I am not binge watching television or movies, I am dreaming about travelling again one day. I told Gord that we are so going to the Baeumler’s resort Caerula Mar Resort when this pandemic is over!!!

Thanks for reading ❤️

Check out Subscribers only content for Zach Sobiech’s song “Clouds”

Continue reading with a Coil membership.