June 25, 2020

Day 35 Are You Happy?

I have one of those signs that you can change the wording on in my basement which I do change periodically. Recently I put the words Am I Happy on it. A gentle reminder and question to ask myself from time to time.

Invariably, my answer is no. Why is no the answer? What is it that makes me happy in the first place? If I just lose those few pounds I would be happy? If I just exercised more maybe then I’ll be happy. What if I get everything on my list done today will I be happy? What if my kids and my husband do everything I want them to do will I be happy? In all those things my usual response would be a resounding no, none of those make me happy.

Happiness is a choice. A choice to love myself even when I don’t measure up to the many molds of this world. A choice to forgive myself when I don’t look as thin as I would like to be, or am not as smart as many. A choice to be happy with my simplicity and not try and compare or measure myself to others. My choice today, right now is yes I am happy right where I am! I’m thankful, I’m hopeful, I am learning to be content. I’m ok, and it feels good!

#100daystooffload