May 10, 2020

Day 15: Motherhood

I think it is safe to say that experience is the best teacher. At least I find this true with most things. For example, we never learn how to ride a bike until we get on it, ride a bit, fall off, try goofy stuff, get hurt and get back on. Each experience is teaching us valuable lessons and building our confidence. Same is true for much of life.

Motherhood is about like that too. Thank goodness we have 9 months to plan and prepare. No matter how many books you read, or mothers you talk too, each child, each pregnancy is going to be different and unique. I know before we had our first son, I was terrified to even try having a child for fear I would be a terrible mom. Fears of all shapes and sizes have plagued me over the years. Of course the first child is your “trial and error baby.” You try to do everything perfect even though lets face it, no one is perfect. Never have been and never will be. Who are we trying to kid. We live in a fallen world of imperfect people.

It doesn’t mean the more you have gets any easier either. Our middle child for many years because of her “uniqueness, has often told her father and I, “ I think I was adopted!” Of which my normal reply is, No, my daughter that can’t be, for I remember very well your pain during delivery.

Don’t get me wrong there are many blessings of motherhood. The amazement of that little person with 10 fingers and toes! Watching them sleep, watching them smile in their sleep, watching them grow, their first tooth, their first step, singing to them, reading books, potty training, playing together, watching them build character, maturing. Each day is a growing experience for both child and parent, infusing love, compassion, faith, security and independence to go out into the world.

Sometimes I wish I would have had all my “stuff” together before becoming a parent. You know, like anger management, my emotional baggage taken care of from my teenage years. Fears and worries down to a minimal. As it is, we end up spending a lifetime working on issues in our own lives and also our children’s lives which they have fortunately or unfortunately inherited from us.

I thank the Lord every day for the children He has blessed me with. I am far from a perfect parent. I have my flaws and short comings that’s for sure. But as I look at my 3 through eyes of faith, God knew exactly what I needed in a family. We have differences of opinion, we talk, we laugh, we make memories, we encourage and are sometimes downright crazy, ultimately it is love for each other that keeps us together. I like it that way, and wouldn’t change it for anything.

To all you mom’s out there young, older or somewhere in between, you are precious in the eyes of your Heavenly Father. You have not arrived, but you have left on an an adventure somewhere in the midst of this thing called Motherhood. Enjoy, for life is ever fleeting.

#100daystooffload