May 11,2020

Day 16: Something New

I tried something I’ve wanted to try for some time. Since I have so much rhubarb coming on right now, I wondered what Rhubarb Empanadas would taste like?

I went through the process of making the dough, rolling it out thin, figuring out what my circle cut out was going to be, cut those all out , cut the rhubarb and even cut up some strawberries to add to some.

Since this was really my first time making them it was an experiment for sure. I filled the pastry with fruit, folded it over and crimped the edges. After refrigerating them for 30 min. I took them out, wiped each one with egg and sprinkles with sugar. They cooked for roughly 23 min.

They were ok, I think I would do things differently next time. Possibly make more of a pie filling. As it was I had pieces of rhubarb/strawberries with a little sugar. When The empanada was done, there was a air space which could have been filling. Maybe next time I’ll try apple or maybe banana/rhubarb. That combo makes a very nice pie, empanadas with rhubarb/banana should be good as well.

#100daystooffload