May 2, 2020

Day 8: The Dilemma

This spring I have been faced with a dilemma. Since my husband and I have been married, going on 34 years this year, we have always had some sort of garden. Having anything larger that a pot is guaranteed responsibility, and time put into having said garden. Ive grown all kinds of “veggies” over the years. Regular potatoes, sweet potatoes, green beans, onions, tomatoes, cucumbers, zucchini,corn, red beets, carrots, lettuce, peas, peppers, and spinach. ( I'm sure I forgot something) Don't forget strawberries, rhubarb and raspberries!

first figuring out what I want to grow, getting the ground ready, getting seeds, putting everything in, watering, weeding and praying for God to send suitable weather for growing. Weeds.. cant keep down the weeds unless you constantly spray or go out and do the backbreaking chore of weeding by hand. When one has nice soil it works well, but in our clay soil, lets just say its better for rocks than gardening. And as I get older I have to decide really, how much work I want to put into it.

So insert dilemma here. We have had a patch of dirt my husband put beside the field to the north of our house. Several years ago our daughter decided to buy 75 strawberry plants for herself as a birthday present. Those plants all needed a home of course.. in dirt. That is where the mound of dirt originated. Where this dirt came from had lots of weed seeds. Thistles to be exact and if anyone knows anything about thistles, their root system is as deep as the plant is tall and very hard to get rid of. Unless you spray it off with some kind of killer and then where would your berries be? So for the past few of years we have made do. We've worked the ground different times and I worked at keeping weeds out. The sad part is the thistles are winning.

This years question is, what do you want to grow my dear? how much work do you want to put in, and where do you want your garden? Ugh! for now I am still in the planning stages and praying hard for an idea that would be suitable for what I want. Hopefully withing these 100 days I will get back to you on those unique garden plans.

#100daystooffload