// 12:10 pm

I'm hiring a new manager at the farm, and have been interviewing for that position the last couple of weeks. This is a new manager spot that would oversee our farm stand, making sure it's operating well, it's cute, stocked well, all the data is tracked and making sure we're making money. I've narrowed it down to two ladies that are both fantastic, and would certainly do well. It was tough to make the final choice, but we've decided which one will get the job, and of course, which one will receive a call of disappointment, shortly.

I've already made the call to let the winner know, and of course she was excited. I'm not so excited to make the next call, and clearly I'm putting it off for a bit. I don't like these parts of being 'the boss' – having to fire, or pass on disappointing news. I think it just gives me some anxiety and I have to take a few minutes to work through it and build myself up to just ripping the band-aid off, and getting it over with. I've never liked it, even though I've done it countless times. It never gets easier than the time before.

I'm excited to move forward though with new staff and people in places and position that aligns well with their skills, passions and interests. Having the right people in the right role is essential.

I also have another employee that I believe has 'checked out' and is just doing enough to get by, clearly not motivated or interested in anything further. I'll most likely have to dissolve that position and let her go, as we've given her just about every opportunity we can think of to help her, including endless training, resources, materials, time, money and equipment to make things easier for her. But, when they don't have the motivation or drive to make things happen for themselves, that's hard to create for them. Not much I can do there.

Everyone is capable of creating the reality they want for themselves, and we do that through every moment of our lives; every conversation, every interaction, every pursuit, every choice (or lack thereof), all creates who we are. If you ever want something different, you can make it happen. But without that inner drive to put in the work, the time, the overall investment, nothing will change. So, at these times, with employees that come from that mentality, and don't appear to respond to any attempts we make to encourage and support a different mindset, it's time to go separate ways. Especially when I have people begging to work here that do have that inner drive and passion to create and make things happen.

I hate having to let someone go. Especially when it's been such a small crew, and everyone becomes good friends after working together closely every day for a couple of years. But, what am I to do? I feel that I've done more than enough to help this person out, and it hasn't done anything. They haven't made it happen for themselves.

Another part I have to remember, is, that even though this truly is a dream job, but, it's not everyone's dream. And that's ok. It's ok to want to do your own thing and try something new or different. I've walked away from 'dream jobs' and people thought I was nuts. But I knew it just wasn't for me. I knew I wouldn't be happy. It just didn't align with who I was, where I was going, and who I wanted to be. And that's ok. Leaving those spots, even though scary, ended up being a wonderful thing for me. I'm hoping it'll be the same for this other girl. It'll such to leave, but it could be the best thing for her.

I'll have to deal with that situation in the coming weeks. But for now, I'll celebrate the hiring of a wonderful and pumped up new manager that's excited to get to work and make the magic happen... just after I ruin another person's day.

Doing that phone call now...

More later.

/mg