Back again?

I haven't written anything in a while, because... well, who cares. Is blogging even a thing anymore? Not that I started this site to be a public blog and get followers/readers and all that crap, because that's not it at all. This site doesn't work that way anyway, which I really enjoy, (although allowing me to follow blogs would be nice so I can easily read their new posts). I started this as a way for me to write, anonymously. And by 'write' I mostly mean vent and complain about whatever I want, because let's face it, that's what we all love to do on the internet, right? It's not bad, though. I find great value in venting through writing. It helps me 'get it out', so to speak. Often times, I see what's in front of me on the screen and I don't like it, don't agree with it, or just don't care. I let it pass and move on with my life, although feeling a lot better for having vented a little. My mind seems more clear, or at least a little less negative. Life can be a bullshit process sometimes, and it can feel good to just vent and complain about things, even if it doesn't represent ultimate reality or how we truly feel. There's value in everything.

I've realized that I miss the process of writing. I used to do it religiously, daily, in a variety of different ways including carrying around pocket moleskine notebooks that I would fill up constantly. Then, converting to the online world to write blogs of various names and titles for years. I loved the art of writing and wouldn't go a day without it. But, as time went on and schedules became more hectic, and life being the shit-show that it is sometimes, writing slowly began to fade due to lack of time needed to do it the way I enjoy doing it. My issue is that I didn't force time to be allowed for it. I gave my time away to other things. I left writing on here earlier in the year because I kind of switched to Twitter as my main outlet. Just quick little bursts of writing, or retweets, to share news, photos, or whatever was important to me on that day/time. If nothing else, it was my life-log. It's not a very good way to keep a log, though, and I deeply miss the process of sitting down with the laptop, a nice cup of tea, and just writing.

I've been writing daily on a website called, 750words.com, which allows you to write freely with the goal to reach 750 words a day. This process is like a mind-dump, to help clear the mind, organize thoughts, or to help with whatever project, issue, or challenge you're facing. It's a good tool and has helped me appreciate the writing process again, realizing that I can easily shift the time throughout my day (even if just setting aside 10 minutes each morning) to allow for writing time. Or, in cases like right now, just start writing in between some work things. It's only a few minutes of time and gives me a good little break. I think it helps with my day, or at least my mindset towards the day. Maybe it makes me a better person in some way? Nah. Maybe not. Once a stubborn asshole, always one. I'll continue using that site I think, for basic mind-dump stuff, but will resort back to this site for more journal-type writing. I love the privacy-focused mission of this site, and I'm happy to be a paying supporter.

For the most part, dear reader (if any other than myself), this blog will be a place for me to vent and express whatever thoughts I have about whatever life-situation arises. This may cater towards a category of writing about depression and common experiences in life that we all go through, or, it may be me just blabbing about whatever. I don't know. But, I think I need to keep writing. I think everyone needs that sort of time to go within, in whatever way makes sense for them.

More later...

/mg