7 Handy Things to Always Pack for Traveling Writers and Digital Nomads

I’ve been relatively stationary in Pittsburgh for the first half of 2023 but I’ve got a couple of trips coming up in the next few months. My first trip of the year starts in a week, and it’s a new one for me: a visit to a national park (Yosemite) followed by a cross-country Amtrak excursion back to Pittsburgh.

I’ve done long road trips in the past, but typically the destinations have been urban areas—places I thought I could count on getting easy access to things like power and Wi-Fi. I didn’t always plan ahead properly, and as a result I learned:

These things are annoyances for typical travelers, but can be huge sources of stress for working writers who have clients waiting for responses and assignments that need to be completed by a deadline. Being prepared for potential snags can save you a lot of headaches and wasted time, letting you actually enjoy your travels and keep up with your work at the same time.

Here’s my current “Be Prepared” remote work kit I’m about to pack up for my upcoming travels:

…and as for what all’s in it, here are the key pieces and why I bring each (along with a couple other things that aren’t remote worker-specific but are definitely things that come in handy):

#1: Portable power bank.

The availability of public power outlets varies widely from place to place. Having your own source of power means you can post up for your workday just about anywhere, even while you’re on the road.

There are two power banks in that picture. The big one has an AC outlet and a 32,000 mAh capacity, which means I can use it to recharge my computer. The little red one has a 2,500 mAh capacity and is nicely pocket-sized so I can use it to recharge my phone or vape when I want to travel a bit lighter.

The larger power bank can be recharged using a wall outlet or the lighter port in a car—something like that will be a smart choice for van life and other long drives. It can also accept a charge through a portable solar panel. I haven’t gone that far yet (I’ll be staying in the “city folk” housing of Yosemite, so I’ll have access to outlets) but if you’re planning to do any serious hiking or camping, that can be a smart move.

#2: Portable Wi-Fi hotspot.

Like outlets, Wi-Fi access can be hit or miss when you’re traveling. Having your own hotspot means you don’t have to rely on the speed, security, reliability, and availability of public networks.

Mobile hotspots use cellular networks that they convert into a Wi-Fi signal. This means they can provide internet access anywhere there’s cell coverage, which includes roughly 99% of the United States and about 88% of the world.

I use the GlocalMe G4 Pro. I like its flexibility since you can buy packages as you need them or sign up for subscription. Within North America/Central America, a 1GB plan costs around $4-$10 depending on how long you need it for. It’s also super easy to use and has been reliable for me so far (Update: the G4 worked beautifully on the Amtrak whenever we were in cell range! The only times it struggled were within Yosemite itself and when we were going through the Rocky Mountains).

Between a Wi-Fi hotspot and the portable power station mentioned above, you can basically turn anywhere into a surrogate office for your workday, which is nice—it kind of sucks to travel to a cool new place then spend most of the time you’re there holed up in your hotel or a coworking space.

#3: Spare chargers for all your devices.

If you’re going to a city, and your devices use standard microUSB or USB-C charging ports, odds are pretty good you’ll be able to buy a replacement charger if yours is lost or broken—but, then again, why take the chance?

And if your computer uses a different style of charging port, absolutely don’t count on quickly finding a replacement. I’m speaking here from experience. My computer charger died in the early days of a month-long stint in Mérida, Mexico. I spent the next few days running around the city with my dead charger like Prince Charming with his glass slipper. I did eventually find my metaphorical Cinderella and got back up and running, but that was stress I could have spared myself if I’d planned ahead just a little bit better.

#4: Ziploc Bags.

Or any other type of plastic bag with a closure. The closure part is important because it guarantees whatever is inside will be protected and/or contained. I usually bring an assortment of sizes—a few gallon-sized bags for things like chargers, the power station, and other electronics, along with smaller sandwich bags for taking my pocket power bank, vape, or phone on the go.

Moisture is the natural enemy of anything electronic and can very quickly and easily ruin your devices (and your ability to do work). Having plastic bags on-hand is smart if you’re going to be hiking or camping, but it can also be useful in urban environments—say if you’re in Costa Rica and get caught in one of their famous Green Season short-but-mighty rainstorms.

Plastic bags also give you somewhere to put damp things like clothes and towels (or things that could make a mess, like shampoo, lotions, etc.) so they don’t damage books, electronics, or other moisture-sensitive things in your bag if you don’t have time to get them fully dry before you go.


….that picture was just my remote-work specific “Be Prepared” kit, but there are some other things I always make sure to pack that can be just as useful for longer trips and digital nomading type excursions:

#5: A towel (bonus points for microfiber).

Douglas Adams might not have intended to drop truth nuggets in Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, but intentionally or not he included at least one: a towel is a massively useful thing to have. This is particularly true for those staying in hostels or Airbnbs, where you might not have such luxuries as complimentary towels in your lodging.

Even if you’re staying in hotels, though, there’s an advantage to bringing your own towel. Things don’t always wait to spill until you’re back at the room, for one thing. It’s also handy extra padding around delicate things during travel, and can help stave off the aforementioned moisture problem when you do get caught in a rainstorm or whatnot.

Microfiber towels dry faster and are less bulky than cotton versions, which makes them great for traveling. A standard towel will do the trick too, though.

#6: Swiss Army knife or multitool.

When I traveled to Mérida, it never occurred to me to bring a can opener. I had a full apartment with a kitchen, and I suppose part of me assumed every kitchen has a can opener, right? Nope.

And before you say “well I won’t be opening any cans!”….you don’t know that for sure. Each country has its own approach to food packaging that may be different from what you’re used to.

There are other useful tools on your average multitool, as well, from scissors to cut fraying threads to a saw for opening pesky plastic packaging to bottle openers in case that six-pack of cervezas you bought aren’t twist-off caps, after all.

#7: Sewing kit.

Clothes, suitcases, bags, and other cloth things can easily tear while you’re gallivanting around, especially for adventurous travelers who like to step off of beaten paths (or folks like me, whose backpacks are already old and much-mended from past travels).

Rather than having to buy a whole new item, or jury-rig a fix with duct tape and safety pins, bringing a small self-contained travel sewing kit lets you make on-the-go repairs to keep your gear at least mostly intact for the duration of your journey.

See similar posts:

#FreelancerLife #DigitalNomads