Implementing Writer Jim Irion's Ideas Into Nonmonetized Together

Picture from tonny huang/Unsplash

This article can also be viewed at https://medium.com/non-monetized-together/implementing-writer-jim-irions-ideas-into-nonmonetized-together-8920419d8178

Nonmonetized Together is an online community where people share their ideas to inform the actions of the community members. Jim has shared a lot of knowledge about autism with Nonmonetized Together, so I will look through his articles and see how I can implement that knowledge into the Nonmonetized Together landscape. I will then send this article to him and ask for his feedback before publishing.

“Psychology and psychiatry still have difficulty defining what autism is. As a result of this being true, autism acceptance will not happen within the foreseeable future unless we deal with these problems together at their source” – We Need Everyone.

Takeaway: Some Nonmonetized Together users may live in an area where their neurotype, disability, or mental health situation is not well understood. This means that when we interact with each other, we should make sure not to evaluate people’s responses based on societal expectations. For example, we should not act with the assumption that people are neurotypical, nor should we act with the assumption that they are neurodivergent. Instead, we should take both possibilities into consideration even when the person hasn’t (yet) disclosed their situation. In addition, we can contribute to discussions by frequently mentioning how the discussion topic relates to neurodiversity, disability, or mental health. This way, Nonmonetized Together contributors can help each other be mindful of these topics.

“Again, society needs a stark reminder that autistic people are being stripped of their humanity and identified as a set of labels. We are still being defined as high-functioning or disabled” – To Be Or Not To Be Autistic.

Takeaway: There’s nothing wrong with giving a nuanced description of yourself in your Nonmonetized Together posts. Don’t feel pressured to reduce yourself to a label for the sake of simplicity. You’ll be accepted as who you are, not your label.

Also, this relates to something I realized when writing my last article. Using the word “they” is very dehumanizing in situations where “someone” or “one/some/all/any of them” would be more applicable. I will try to avoid using “they” in these situations. This allows me to dramatically sharpen readers’ abilities to understand each other while being subtle enough that I won’t be attacked for being woke. However, if I’m responding to someone who is using the word “they” when other options could be better, I might I have to use the same wording to make the conversation easier to follow.

“One month later, in September, I received [the health provider’s] response [to a presentation Jim did about how to respond to autistic needs]. I was supposed to email their recruitment help services to discuss accommodations with filling out written job applications. They ignored what I presented about cross-neurotype communication issues, the inadequacies of generalized mental healthcare, and my potential to enhance autism research as a primary source. I had no choice but to stand my ground.” – Journey of Accommodation, Part 3.

Takeaway: I will always give users additional chances to explain themselves if they don’t feel like I understood them. I will be willing to accept that I misunderstood what they were trying to say. I will not give up until both of us can agree that I grasped what they were saying.

“Those who are not autistic need to accept that society is designed with your neurotype in mind. Every single day, we have to mask and blend in just to manage our mental health, maintain employment, and avoid a wide range of conflicts. Some of which end in social isolation, bullying, suicide, depression, discrimination, or death. Some of these still happen to us anyway, regardless of what we try to do to avoid them.” – The Divide That Determines Our Future, Part 8

Takeaway: Remember, when you’re using Nonmonetized Together to discuss a topic with someone, you’re not just talking with that one person. You’re having a discussion that can be seen by people all over the world. Don’t give up the conversation just because the other person doesn’t understand. Maybe someone else reading the conversation can join in and help the two of you see eye to eye. To make it obvious, you can ask, “does anybody else here understand what I’m talking about?” Even if nobody joins in, remember that other readers may benefit from your comments.

“The soothing sound of George Harrison’s song “Cloud Nine” playing over the radio. The sweet smell of marigold flowers on a summer day. The soft touch of a satin-trimmed blanket between my fingers. The mouth-watering taste of a traditional Italian Stromboli. Or the vibrant color of green I would see during springtime. While I paid closer attention to these simple and positive sensory experiences, I became more aware of myself and my feelings.” – The Gift That Keeps On Giving

Takeaway: You can enhance your articles with embedded videos. Make sure to write descriptions of the videos for people who are unable to completely experience them. You can be creative and include other multisensory enhancers in your article too. For example, you can suggest that readers experience a certain scent when reading articles. They shouldn’t be mandatory though!

Do you want to help make Nonmonetized Together a supportive community? Share your ideas by writing some responses or posts. You might see some of us start spreading your knowledge in the future, like I did with Jim’s ideas in this article!

Discuss...

#Inclusivity #Writing #Autism #SocialMedia #Neurodivergence