Noticing A Bias Against Women

You can also read this at https://medium.com/non-monetized-together/noticing-a-bias-against-women-fd9363e3304d

I have an example of a time I noticed a bias I had against women. I’m sharing this anecdote so you can see if you have this bias too and take steps to correct it.

Basically, when I write an article, I spend a lot of time imagining how people will respond to it. I suppose this is common among writers. Sometimes I imagine getting hate comments from people who use faulty reasoning. I do this so I can prepare a response in case this does happen.

Well, I noticed that every time I did this, I imagined the comment coming from a woman. You’d think I would notice this immediately but I didn’t, not right away, because the imaginary comment’s gender was deep in the background of my mind. Eventually I realized my bias and started taking steps to imagine these comments coming from other people.

#Feminism #Anecdote #SelfGrowth #Bias

Discuss...