Do You Celebrate Valentine’s Day?

It’s coming. You know, that date! The one where people run out to get overpriced flowers, candy and dinner. What day is it you ask? It’s Valentine’s Day! something that Michael and I choose not to celebrate. Why? I’ll tell you. Check this out!

So Michael and I have been married for 15 years. We met and married in just 90 days. I guess it’s fair to say we both believe in love at first sight because truly, that’s what it was. There was so many naysayers and I can’t say that I blame them. It was quite risky because how well could you know someone in just 90 days? Here’s the thing, from the moment I laid eyes on Michael, I felt like I’d already know him forever and I knew I had to make him my husband!

We actually met at an AA meeting and in the AA community that’s just taboo. The line they use is, “two sickies don’t make a wellie”, weird I know. I still say I get it though. I watched many relationships start and then fail very quickly and some ended with the people drinking together however, I knew that wouldn’t be us. My gut just told me. If anything I knew he’d be my rock and yes he’s helped me out of some tight spots in sobriety and I’m forever grateful for that.

I had many people pull me aside to tell me why I shouldn’t be with Michael and it fell on deaf ears. There were 2 people in particular that hated Michael and I getting together and moving our relationship along so quickly. They told us we couldn’t yet, here we are 15 years later and through thick and thin, our love is unconditional.

I don’t have it in me to take ONE day out of the year to “honor” it as the day I love my husband “more”. I don’t want elaborate gifts, I want unconditional love which he gives me daily. He doesn’t want gifts, he wants unconditional love which he gets daily. We just don’t need to say that Valentine’s Day is special because our love is special 365 Days a year.

I’ve actually seen relationships fail because the gift wasn’t good enough, the box of candy wasn’t big enough or maybe someone didn’t get the proposal that they were expecting! Sad. That’s what I view that as. We don’t do so much as a card because we don’t need to, we show our love daily.

Hey if Valentine’s Day is your thing then I’m happy for you. I don’t judge people that enjoy celebrating Valentine’s Day, we just choose not to.

On Valentine’s Day I do show love but, to everyone! The same love I show them all year long. I will say Happy Valentine’s Day but, to all of you because if you’re reading this there’s a good chance I love you.

No matter what you do on this Valentine’s Day just please be safe. COVID is still alive and kicking around here and we still are taking all COVID precautions ♥️