Expect The Unexpected

Life, it’s ever changing but, once In awhile something gets thrown into the mix that’s completely unexpected and that’s exactly what happened just yesterday. We had a situation that will completely change our lives in just a matter of a couple of months! I didn’t see this one coming but, I’m a survivor. That’s how my momma raised me. Come along on my next journey!

My mom passed away last year on October 23rd. My parents have always lived in my childhood home, one I love so very much. Also one that holds the urn of my mother and is the home to my amazing step-father. After my mom passed, my younger brother lived with our dad. It worked out great because my dad is getting older, he’s got cancer, his knees are really bad and he’s got 3 dogs and a cat. He just can’t take care of a 2400 square foot home and the animals. My brother lived with my dad and he also worked outside of the house. He did all of the household task and that was so helpful. My dad had nothing to worry about until he did.

I’ve noticed some changes in my brother over the past few months. He’s got severe OCD that goes untreated. Usually with OCD there’s other diagnoses as well but, he’s not about to go get diagnosed because he doesn’t see the problem. I try to lovingly coax him in the direction of speaking to a professional however, he feels it’s a “set up”. He’s been exhibiting paranoid behaviors and I’m very worried about him.

Yesterdays work day started with a bang! The client was just off the hook and coming unglued. Now mind you, he called us off on Monday and then complained yesterday that we weren’t done yet. Well, I’m not Michael but, I’m doing the very best that I can. The clients knows this but, he also suffers from OCD. When we leave at night, he’s walking around with a LED light. As he said yesterday, “I want as close to perfection as I can get”! Now this man has had many throw ins and he’s actually costing us money. We supplied the paint. I don’t play and I finally cut off his condescending voice to cut right to the chase! I said, “Listen, do you want us to finish this job, which is almost done or do you want me to pack it up? There’s no sense of sitting here and wasting anyone’s valuable time. I’m either working for you or someone else. I’d like to finish this seeing it’s almost done but, you’re the client”. That changed everything and of course he wanted the work finished. Today is probably the last day. I say probably because it’s been the “last day” 5 different times and then he adds more work.

During this very stressful morning my dad reached out to me. My brother showed up home and started saying things to my dad that didn’t make sense and in a split second, he was gone. He moved out. Like a thief in the night. Now here’s the thing. It’s fine that my brother moved out but, it’s the way he did it and right before Christmas! I went outside at work and called my dad. It was the very first time I ever heard him cry to the point of not being able to say his words. It broke me. So I’m on a job site, sitting in my vehicle, sobbing. I knew though I had to get my head back into the work game. We can’t get done if we don’t keep working.

It was a very hard day. I’d find myself painting alone in a bedroom with tears running down my cheeks. I’m hurt. I’m hurt that my brother did this to my family but, I’m also so worried about him and my dad. Immediately my mind was looking for solutions for everyone. Currently I have Alyson, Phillip and Mason at my home but, they found a place. They’ll be moving within the next couple of months.

We got out of work, stopped home and then went straight to my dads house. Well, by the time we were all done talking, this was now mine and Michael’s home too! Yes, I’m going home! Back to the kitchen that my sweet momma baked her wonderful cookies in, back to the home that I snuck in and out of when I was a teenager and back to the home where my mom spent her final days.

This was the only solution that I could come up with. Now I just had to get all parties to agree. I brought up the idea of me coming home with Michael at one of the table looking sick, gray and worn down and my dad at the other end of the table looking sad, down and depressed! Everyone agreed so yes, WE are going back to my childhood home!

For $5.00 a month you can subscribe to Coil and also have access to Cinnamonvideo. There’s so much wonderful content on these platforms. You also can finish this very blog that you started. Come on and give it a try. It’s $1.00 a day for just 5 days!

Continue reading with a Coil membership.