Guilty By Association

This is a situation that really bothers me. How do we make someone responsible for someone else’s behaviors or actions? I simply say, “We don’t”. I’m going to explaine the situation so you can better understand it.

The phone rings at 2:35am and someone’s crying on the other end. We all pretty much know that if the phone rings at that hour not much good is going to come from it. I’m going to call my friend “Bob”. Bob went out with a group of friend’s to celebrate the Birthday of one of our other friend’s. I was invited but, politely declined for a couple reasons. 1. I just don’t belong in bars, period. I’m a recovering alcoholic and I just don’t fit in there. 2. My husband isn’t well and I feel leaving him home alone to go celebrate is just grossly inappropriate and 3. I’d rather have my grandchildren who bring some peace to my already damaged heart. So that’s why I was home and not out celebrating and possibly in handcuffs.

It wasn’t Bob’s Birthday but, he was there to celebrate with “Mark” and several other friend’s. Time ticking away and drink’s flowing and then that’s when all of the chaos begins. All this pent up aggravation from COVID-19, Election stress and even Mark losing his job and the beer muscles came out in full force. The incident, according to the police officer I spoke to was 100% Mark’s fault but, Bob was also being charged with, “Simple Harassment” and needed a ride. That’s where I come in but, we will wait a second on that part.

I asked Bob what he did during this incident of fighting and he said, “I pulled Mark off the guy and said let’s go. The night was over”. So why was he being charged as well? I asked him to put the cop on the phone and he did. The office was very kind and he obviously heard the conversation between Bob and I. So I asked the question, “Why on earth is Bob being charged with anything seeing that he tried to help the situation”? The officers answer floored me. He said, “He could have chosen to stay out of it but, he got his hands in the mix”. I said, “It seems like he was trying to fix the situation, make it go away and also end the night”!? The cop agreed that’s exactly what happened but, he said that “Bob” should have turned his back. Hmm. Time’s have changed indeed. So the last thing I said to the officer before I rolled out of bed to make this dreaded journey at now almost 3am was, “So basically Bob is being given a ticket because he was there. You’re saying he’s guilty by association”? The answer was pretty much, “YES”!

For $5.00 a month you can subscribe to Coil and also have access to Cinnamonvideo. There’s some wonderful blog’s on here packed full of all sorts of different ideas. Check it out. It’s $1.00 a day for 5 days.

Continue reading with a Coil membership.