How Will Covid-19 Effect Our Holidays?

Well, as we all know our major holidays are fastly approaching but, this year will be a year like noneother. I honestly don’t have the answer to how we move forward with holidays and Covid. That’s why I’m writing this blog. Maybe others have though this out but, it’s very hard to figure out to me.

So since Covid-19 hit we have had some holidays. We celebrated Easter and Covid-19 was fairly new. I chose to have my children, grandchildren, father and brother over for Easter but, we did it outside and we did practice social distancing. Everything went great and nobody got sick. Amen to that.

I happen to live in a state that gets very cold and by November we could have a foot of snow. Having Thanksgiving outside just isn’t an option. My question is how do we do this safely? The only thing I can come up with is maybe accepting the fact that we can’t and won’t be surrounded by our loved ones on these major holidays. Our home still has to be so careful because of Michael. I’m always the one to worry because the Doctor told me that if Michael gets COVID-19 he’s got a 5% chance of making it. He’s now done with treatment but, he’s still been fairly sick. He’s got his good days and he’s got his bad days. Maybe I’m just to nervous. I don’t know.

What’s your idea of Christmas Eve? All the family coming together to eat, drink and be merry? Yes, that’s what I think but, can we safely do that this year? Can you actually invite your Aunt over who you’ve not seen in months and trust that she’s safe? Again, I don’t know. I know some say they don’t care because nothing will keep them away from their family but, is this a risk we really are willing to take? Again, I don’t know.

I know that I’ve been out to social events but, I wear my mask, social distant and use my hand sanitizer. I feel I’m in control so to speak, when I’m out in public. If I invite family over for the Holidays I feel I’ve lost that control. I don’t know how seriously they’ve taken COVID-19 or what percautions they’ve taken. I feel like one option could be to ask questions. Ask your family members where they stand on this issue and how seriously they’ve taken it. When I write that though it just doesn’t seem like enough. I mean it’s my family that I’m protecting so that’s pretty serious.

I’ve thought about this over and over and this is what a see in my head. If everyone just stays home for the holidays then it will be myself, Michael, Alyson, Phillip and Mason here at home. My dad and brother would be home by themselves. That to me is so painful to think about. My son and his family would be in another home and that’s 2 of my other grandchildren as well.

Christmas Morning is always done at my home. The grandchildren wake up at home and then they all come to our home and we have a beautiful Christmas morning, together. Everyone opens their gifts. The adult children and the grandchildren. Then together we cook a big Christmas morning breakfast and almost immediately after that Christmas dinner is started. How can we do all of that, safely?

If you’ve thought about this yourself and you’ve come up with some ideas? I’d really love you to share them with me. I’m not ashamed to admit that I don’t understand everything and I don’t have the answers on how to do our holidays safely but, still surrounded by my loved ones. I’ll thank you in advance for any ideas or input at all. I feel this whole holiday season will be a learning experience for all. No matter that we have to stay safe but, not being with the family I love so much seems unbearable.

No matter what you choose to do please be safe. None of us need to be dealing with COVID-19. I’m just as scared of it now as I was in the beginning. It didn’t go away on Election Day as many people predicted. It’s just getting worse around here. Stay safe.

Continue reading with a Coil membership.