By a Stretch

Jazz master Peter Martin's left-hand comping has opened up a pandora box of rabbit holes.

First, his left-hand “voicings” – I'm not 100 percent confident I'm using the term correctly here – require tenth interval hand stretches. My hands, while not small by most definitions, cannot play these chords. I need alternatives. The book Adaptive Strategies for Small-Handed Pianists should help.

Also, I don't know the name of the chords he's playing. Are they rootless 2-5-1 chord progressions (a technique I've had some exposure to) or something else?

I'll look into that tomorrow.

Meditation Time bookstanding today: 0 minutes Quality of meditation (out of 10): 0

Practice Minutes on the keyboard today (out of 40): 20 minutes Quality of practice (out of 10): 4


You can follow this blog via twitter or by RSS in your favorite RSS feed reader. I also send out the occassional newsletter.