New song “Hold Me Now”

In the last weeks I was so exhausted I could almost not do anything music-wise, well I couldn't almost do anything expect work, exercise and learn...

This song was lying around for weeks and I couldn't find the muse to continue. Here are all the lyrics and a first demo on my music page: Hold me now

It was also problematic to finish this song not just because I was exhausted. I'd started the song with theses lines:

Hold me now Just a little bit closer babe I wanna be wrapped in Wrapped in your arms

I liked them but they just came out of the blue. I'm not even in a relationship right now but I wanted to keep the beginning so I had to invent some stuff 😊

So I continued with:

When I'm by myself I feel so lonely When you're not near to me I miss you so dearly

I'm feeding on these Fading memories I wish you could call me please Then I would have peace

This wasn't too bad. I continued in the same manner. Towards the end I mixed in some Corona hints:

People have been Saying all kinds of stuff They think we're not doing enough To head off this crisis

Living under Constant scrutiny Why can't we just be Expressing it freely?

Then I had all of the text but some kind of bridge or further change was missing. Playing a bit on the piano I started to experiment with Em and soon enough I had the part with Em C G D G which is quite ok I think, not great but the song needed something to break it up a bit and that fits quite well.

Now I'm looking forward to write a new song with lyrics where I'm not bound to some invented relationship theme 😁

It's a lot easier if I can write about something that really bugs me. Maybe it will be a Corona song or something, I don't know yet 🙃

On a side note, I just had a date arranged with a girl for today and we had everything planned and then she suddenly wrote to me in the middle of night, calling it off and telling me that she's chatting with another guy now who is much more interesting to her than me. I couldn't sleep for many hours and was quite devastated and the pain lasted throughout most of the day.

Now I was thinking that the song fits quite well on this sad experience and when I sing it I can address it to that girl...

How strange that this invented story somehow came true now that I'm done with the song.

Thanks for reading and cu again after the lockdown! 🙏