Shine Forth and True Love

I found someone to make music with and we now practice my songs weekly.

In the meantime I wrote two new songs: Shine Forth and True Love

I'm going to write a little bit about how Shine Forth was created. Here's the only demo I've recorded so far (with my mobile, sorry):

The song is really a combo of three fragments. The verse which starts with Now we have to stand all... came out when I was sitting in the band room as I was thinking about the Corona lockdown misery.

I had this feeling that we have to stand all together as a society, not against the virus but against exploitation and selfishness, against inequality and carelessness. We need to stop all this madness now or we will destroy this planet! That's what I was thinking...

Later on I was trying to come up with a chorus and I suddenly thought that an older chorus fragment I had written which starts with You shine like a bright diamond... could fit in:

And yes it worked quite well. So what else was there to do? The song needed something more, a twist of some sort to make it more interesting.

Incidentally I had another fragment lying around that originally went like this:

Noone’s gonna know
When I walk in disguise

Noone’s gonna know
When I feel alright

Noone’s gonna know
When all I can do is smile

Noone’s gonna know
When I will say goodbye
To the world
To the world
You can kiss my ass

Outside it’s raining so hard
I can barely see my hands
My face is all white
I don’t know what to feel...

I used those last phrases to start the 2nd verse and the melody plus one phrase from Noone's gonna know... as a middle or bridge part.

And because I needed some more lyrics I checked my files and I found this in a snippet from a Shut Up & Write event:

I can barely get by
I need to get a little high
To forget all these questions
Numbing my head
Going down instead
To the bar next door
My throat is sore
I can't take it anymore

Adapted it fit nicely into the second verse.

And that's how Shine Forth was written. Quite juggled together everything, isn't it? 😆

The worst part about the songwriting process in my opinion is to record a good demo. It is though, annoying and frustrating. And the longer the recording session takes the more the feeling for the song will fade. I have not even done that yet for Shine Forth but one day I will have to go through that chore as well 😄

Cheers and have a nice week, Reto

#songwriting #music