Ridwan's Rough Notes

Vappa

My day never passes without your thoughts.

I’m yet to learn how to handle your loss, my beloved Vappa.

What a huge loss it is!

By the grace of Allah SWT, your good deeds and the legacy you left behind will always comfort you.

May Allah SWT grant you the Jannat Al Firdouz and may we have the blessing to see you there. Ameen!

Happy 67th Birthday, my dearest Vappa. 💔

#vappa


Ridwan Always happy to Discuss... or Reply via email

I will never get to say, இனிய பிறந்தநாள் வாழ்த்துகள் வாப்பா (Happy Birthday, Father) again.

The very first thing I do on my father's birthday is, wish him. My father was not really keen on birthday wishes. This year onward, I will get to say it.

Growing up in a Kilakarai-Tamil-Muslim household, it may be a cultural thing that we were not exposed to saying “I Love You” explicitly. It's always known. We never doubted the love and affection from our parents. However, after my late teen years, my father hugs me and say “I love you, my son or I'm proud of you, my son”. I have felt awkward when I hear him say that. Not because I didn't like it. It was because I did not know how to receive it.

I love my father very much. I see him as my hero. During his last days, it never donned on me to say “I Love You Vappa”. When his soul departed right next to us, I stood there helpless and forsaken. I will never get to say “I Love You, My Father”.

He taught us good manners and values. We can vouch that he has embodied the words of the Holy Messenger of God Almighty (SAW), as quoted in the Book of Tirmidhi:

There is no gift that a father gives his children more virtuous than good manners.

By God's will, my siblings and I will strive to be true to the Holy Messenger's words like our father.

We Miss You, My Beloved Father. I Love You, My Dearest Vappa!

#journal #vappa


Ridwan Always happy to Discuss... or Reply via email

My father was an avid reader. He never hesitated to spend money on books and education. I learned from a young age that books are the learning pathway. Books, pens and notebooks were some of the things he purchased quite regularly. I remember watching my father read and take notes before I knew anything about reading or note-taking.

I gifted Charlie Munger – The Complete Investor by Tren Griffin for my father’s 60th birthday. We used to talk about investing and Warren Buffett. I knew that gifting a book on Investing for his 60th would be something pertinent during his retirement years. I arranged the delivery directly to his work to surprise him. I wanted him to utilise his soon-to-be free time to become an active investor. This leads me to find books on Warren Buffett. But, what I found was the legendary Charlie Munger who I never heard of. I remember talking about my father about Charlie with such enthusiasm and excitement. I was feeling so proud that I have discovered something on my own.

Life had many twists and turns since then. I never got a chance in 6 years to have a proper chat about Investing, his love of books, reading and life at large. Now, I cannot even have the conversation even if I wanted to.

Today, I was going through his library and found Charlie Munger – The Complete Investor book. It made me realise how much I love books and reading just like my father.

Thank you, Vappa for instilling the love of reading and books by showing us the joy of it.

The Complete Investor

#Books #Reading #Storywothy #Vappa


Ridwan Always happy to Discuss... or Reply via email

The father is the middle door of paradise, so it is up to you whether you lose it or protect it. – The Messenger of God, Sunnah Ibn Majah, No. 3663

We underestimate the role of fathers in our society. We do not realise their importance in our lives and in our society until they are gone.

I miss you so much, my beloved father.

#FathersDay #Vappa


Ridwan Always happy to Discuss... or Reply via email