Ridwan's Rough Notes

journal

Getting Things Done 2001

I just remembered I purchased the original Getting Things Done book back in 2013 and never read it until the new 2015 edition came out. I do fancy reading the old version now, to find out how much we have changed since its first publication in 2001.

#gtd #journal


Ridwan Always happy to Discuss... or Reply via email

I was listening to an episode of the Hurry Slowly podcast a few months back. Podcaster Jocelyn K. Glei asked a deep question that left me pondering for quite some time. The question is:

Who are you without the Doing?

Who are we when we are not doing our job? When we are not being a spouse? When we are not being a son or a daughter? Who are we?

This is such a deep question to ponder.

Written on: 2022-06-07

#journal


Ridwan Always happy to Discuss... or Reply via email

Jim Rohn talked about curating three things to leave behind as part of one’s legacy. These are:

  • Journals
  • Books
  • Photos

I think it is a piece of solid advice to tell our personal and family stories to our future generations.

Written on: 2022-06-04

#journal


Ridwan Always happy to Discuss... or Reply via email

I have written about Meditation a few days back. I was pondering the effects of Mindfulness Meditation on me and how it helped me cope with stress and sleep better.

Lately, I'm overwhelmed with emotions and struggle to cope with them. Whenever I feel I'm off balance, I always go back to what I know will work for me. They are Prayer & Meditation. So, I have re-subscribed to Calm app and will be restarting my meditation practice.

I have not set any goals for the practice. If I had to, then it is to meditate 10 minutes for the next 7 days.

#journal #meditation


Ridwan Always happy to Discuss... or Reply via email

A few weeks back, I subscribed to GTD Connect after a discount offer from the GTD Connect Team. I have been practising GTD on and off since 2015. As a tinkerer of productivity systems and an avid consumer of productivity content, I have tried out various methodologies to get a slight edge in my productivity. I always struggle with the new system and end up coming back to the GTD methodology. I feel like I'm wired for David Allen's GTD practice.

In one of the GTD Connect podcast episodes, David talks about finishing your thinking when stuff first shows up in your inboxes. It's called Clarifying. That's my kryptonite. I always find it difficult to define the expected outcome and the next physical action to move that thing forward. But, rather than asking that important question: “what is it?”; I start to go for what I need to do and start organising them into lists. This episode really made me realise that I'm doing something wrong!

Moving forward, when I pick a captured item, I shall ask the following questions:

  1. What is it?
  2. Is it action?
  3. If yes, what is the expected outcome?
  4. What is the next physical action to move closer to the defined outcome?

After answering the above questions, I can start organising the next actions in my fancy task management app.

#journal #productivity #GTD


Ridwan Always happy to Discuss... or Reply via email

Today has been a day of meetings and unexpected interruptions. However, I was able to quickly realign my schedule to handle these quite well.

As we enter into the last month of 2021 and the Omicron variant at our doorsteps, these are times for reflection and getting ourselves prepared for whatever the future holds.

One thing I want to start in December is to read 25 pages a day and at least finish one book. If I can complete this one goal for the month, I will be happy as Larry!

#journal #reading


Ridwan Always happy to Discuss... or Reply via email

Meditation is something I have been practising on and off for more than 7 years. My consistency with meditation wavers quite a lot. I struggle to maintain the practice because spending 20 minutes first thing in the morning is daunting because I have been told by “self-help” gurus (read influencers) that on top of meditation, I should be journaling, exercising, practising gratitude etc. If I follow all of these recommended “first things in the morning” practices, I will just end up spending hours and hours doing these practices wondering if they will really bring me any benefit?

Moving forward, I'm going to keep my morning ritual pretty simple:

  • Wake-up & Ablution
  • Make coffee
  • Prayer & read 5 verses of the Holy Quran.
  • Journal for 7 minutes in Obsidian.
  • Shower & get ready for work.

#journal #meditation


Ridwan Always happy to Discuss... or Reply via email

I have been meaning to read more. Every time, I fail miserably. I understand that my default action is to watch mindless YouTube videos. But, even if I'm aware of my pattern, it is a bit hard to break it.

A few days back, I watched a YouTube video on habit formation from the book Atomic Habits by James Clear, where the author was talking about Identity Habits. It means that when one takes an identity of a reader, then it is easier to implement the habits required to establish that identity.

James Clear recommends creating that identity first. Then, prove to yourself with small wins. For example, when I take the identity as a reader, I can schedule a time to read at least 25 pages a day.

As we near the end of the year, I want to schedule a time to read 25 pages a day for December. And, the best time for me is to read after writing one page in my journal.

#journal #habits


Ridwan Always happy to Discuss... or Reply via email

I have published my third weekly newsletter today. I feel it is good to reflect upon the week and jot down my thoughts. I’m not sure how everything is going to pan out in the future. But, it does give me an outlet to express myself.

Speaking of expressing myself, I have been blogging on and off for quite some time now. The urge to start writing again started after my father’s passing. He always encouraged me to write. Now he is not here with us but I want to honour my father with my writings. I strongly believe any good that happens from this endeavour will definitely make my father proud in the hereafter.

I purchased a Rocketbook to capture my thoughts and ideas that I may take action in the future. I'm really excited to use this notebook. The scanning feature works really well. My initial impression is that this is awesome. I shall wait for a few weeks before sharing my thoughts about it.

#journal #ideas


Ridwan Always happy to Discuss... or Reply via email

I'm starting a new series of blog posts. In these posts I will be reflecting upon my day and try to pick out a few story-worthy moments, I want to reflect upon and remember. The inspiration for this series comes from Matthew Dicks's Storyworthy book. Matt recommends an exercise called Homework of Life where he spends five minutes reflecting upon the day and picking out a story-worthy moment that he would cherish and share with an audience. I liked that idea. And, having a semi-anonymous blog gives me an opportunity to share a public journal that will soon be filled with grateful moments.

Today I have taken it upon myself to fully implement the GTD system over the course of the next few weeks. By the end of this year 2021, I want to have a solid GTD system in place.

Storm Arwen has caused a lot of damage across the UK. We went for a walk at Woolston Park and encountered fallen trees. Hope people stay safe.

I tried the Stair Stepper machine at the gym. I could only manage 5 minutes on it. I kind of like it. I'm going to incorporate it into my workout routine. I guess, just 5 minutes will do for a start.

#journal #storyworthy


Ridwan Always happy to Discuss... or Reply via email