I was wrong. So, so wrong.

I'd romanticised an idea in my head of a weird, isolated loner, who somehow went out and changed the world. I thought I could be that guy.

But you can't. It's impossible.

Why?

Networks. You need one. I need one. We all need one.

Lack a network, you become disillusioned. Or at least, that's what happened to me.

A lot of things have changed with me, I suppose.

I care about things now. I'd like to see if I can solve some of humanity's problems. I want to experience life. And I want to care about people. It's a beautiful fucking thing, to be able to care. And if you're capable of it, which I am – why the hell wouldn't you?

Why not give this life thing a real fucking go? I suppose that's a small part of me writing this. On this mad old platform – one that promises change, for a cleaner, more decentralised future. I don't know if that's the right way to go – no one does – but I'm voting for what I want, not through a politician, but through my actions.

We'll see how it pans out.

And where did I reach this conclusion, you might wonder? From a pickup artist's blog. Thanks, RedQuest. You're an interesting fella, and even though we'll never meet, I want to say that I appreciate you.

It's a funny old thing, that. About the people in your networks. They need to match your polarity to some extent, your extremes of thinking. I haven't found many people yet, but I will.