Within the past week, I've completed research on both local and nonlocal companies that align with my current interests. I've been fascinated by some companies and people [mostly writers] doing amazing work. In my notebook, I've written down the ones that fascinate me the most, separating them into the two categories: local & nonlocal.

Primarily, I've found these companies and writers by way of the 'Search' feature on LinkedIn. I also used Google Search to find environmental companies in Utah, checked the Utah Business Magazine search bar for more companies, followed the companies & the people that my connections & followers on LinkedIn follow, and the 'People Also Viewed' feature on LinkedIn.

I've also pinpointed the copywriters that I would like to meet up with [both locally and on Zoom] for informational interviews or 'coffee chats.' I did this in 2018 with workers in tech, specifically developers. Had a great time learning from them.

Lastly, referring to the companies and people that I am naturally drawn to, I've written down the patterns and what they all have in common. These included creativity, creative solutions, edtech, language, storytelling, travel/remote work, learning/curiosity, sustainable marketing, and sustainable travel. Topics and hashtags that I wasn't interested in pursuing I also wrote down on another list for reference.

Currently, I am in the process of building my network on LinkedIn, reading more of 'This is Marketing,' learning about the most fascinating companies I've found in my research, and messaging writers and business owners [both local and nonlocal].

Excited to continue taking action using the mountains of advice I've accumulated about getting a creative job the non-traditional way.

I'm using this timeline [from one of my virtual mentors] to help me: https://tim.blog/2011/09/29/8-steps-to-getting-what-you-want-without-formal-credentials/