Why Are Coffee Shops So Productive?

I have written on this topic before and I have to revisit it.

It really is a simple and perhaps obvious thing, but doing work in a coffee shops is one of the most productive states of work I have found in my life.

There has to be something about the business meetings being conducted and other folks working that gives off a certain energy of get-sh*t-done.

I find that putting on noise cancelling headphones, sitting in a corner and making sure to have a nice coffee next to me gets me into a flow that I just can't seem to find at the office or at home.

Home is full of personal distractions – notably food – and work is full of social distractions – notably coworkers popping in for quick questions or meetings.

Both of these things are great and I love the office environment for the amount of synergy that goes on when working close to others who share a cohesive interest in the work being done, but I think there is just something revitalizing and special about working in an environment where getting tasks done becomes a flow – one thing after another.

I am sat here at Mill Mountain this morning in between meetings and thoroughly enjoying checking off one task after another.

I wonder if anyone else shares this notion with me.

#productivity