Spencer Scott Pugh

productivity

Choose a category below to see all related posts.

001 #contentcreation 002 #family 003 #god 004 #journal 005 #productivity

Here's an idea.

Record player Pomodoro timer.

I'm sure you've heard of the Pomodoro productivity technique where you do deep work for 25 minutes, then take a 5 minute break, then back to 25 minutes of deep work.

You repeat this rhythm for your allotted time, until you get the project done, etc.

It allows for a good balance of focus AND rest and I have found it to be super effective.

The average side of a Full LP record is between 22 minutes and 25 minutes depending on the length of the album.

How about putting on an album lightly in the background and working till the music stops, take your five minute break, flip the record and get back at it?

I grabbed my old record player from the basement, dusted it off, and brought it into the office to give this a shot.

Just gotta figure out how to hook up speakers to this thing...

#productivity

I have written on this topic before and I have to revisit it.

It really is a simple and perhaps obvious thing, but doing work in a coffee shops is one of the most productive states of work I have found in my life.

There has to be something about the business meetings being conducted and other folks working that gives off a certain energy of get-sh*t-done.

I find that putting on noise cancelling headphones, sitting in a corner and making sure to have a nice coffee next to me gets me into a flow that I just can't seem to find at the office or at home.

Home is full of personal distractions – notably food – and work is full of social distractions – notably coworkers popping in for quick questions or meetings.

Both of these things are great and I love the office environment for the amount of synergy that goes on when working close to others who share a cohesive interest in the work being done, but I think there is just something revitalizing and special about working in an environment where getting tasks done becomes a flow – one thing after another.

I am sat here at Mill Mountain this morning in between meetings and thoroughly enjoying checking off one task after another.

I wonder if anyone else shares this notion with me.

#productivity