bargains that are not bargains

Images of packaged meat follow.

My grocer frequently has Pick-5 labels on frozen foods and meats, meaning that you can pick any 5 of such labeled items and pay $24.99 for the group.

It irritates me that the stickers appear on items that are priced at less than $5. When this happens, I am buying more items than I meant to, without getting any savings at all. I wind up paying full price for each item because the total is well under $24.99.

Packages of chicken thighs priced at $4.44 and $4.58 each with a sticker that says you can pick 5 for $24.99.

Package of chicken thighs priced at $4.19 with a sticker that says you can pick 5 for $24.99.

Packages of chuck steak priced at $3.11 and $3.71 each with a sticker that says you can pick 5 for $24.99.

Packages of ground beef priced at $3.91 and $3.87 each with a sticker that says you can pick 5 for $24.99.

I didn't take any of these. I hunted around for some chicken quarters priced at over $6. And I took some frozen General Tso Chicken, also priced at over $6 each.

I don't like bait and switch.