Veterans in Southern Africa

Once upon a time, a friend on a mailing list with me, seeing that we both are veterans, added me with my permission to a mailing list of fellow veterans.

And it got weird.

See, I'm a US veteran. My friend is a South African veteran. These other folks are from South Africa and neighboring countries.

I got ... some perspectives. And didn't stay on the list long.

Imagine the audacity to be outraged that someone's owned property was seized by the state and given to someone else. When the someone is a settler from Europe and the someone else is of people who had been there the whole fucking time.

This week I learned about Rhodesia and now I more fully understand why the people in that list were so appalling. At the time, they seemed just violently opposed to returning land to black people, which seemed horrible enough to me to leave.