Book Review: The Suffering (The Girl from the Well #2) by Rin Chupeco

So I read this book a while back in December 2018 (it's June 2019 now) and while I was updating my write.as, I realized that I never finished writing the review. However, my opinion still stands. Still, since it has been a while and I only got so far in my original review, I'm going to try to keep this nice and short.

A/A- | This book is solid. It maintains that Fatal Frame-esque feel that I love but also brings more meat that I had been looking for from the first book.

I tend to read books I love really fast because I just engulf them. I can't help it. I would stay up all night to finish a good book. The Suffering is that book. I could not put this book down. Rin's writing has a way of gripping onto you and never letting you go.

With the first book, I kept wanting to shake my phone. I wasn't totally satisfied. Rin had set up this setting that felt so much like one of my favorite game series that I couldn't help but want more and more. This time, however, I was far more satisfied with how things worked out.

The characters felt much more compelling. The story progressed in a much better pace. And? And! I was actually a little more scared this time around. Of course, I was reading this at night while I was alone, but the point still stands.

The series might have started a little slow, but I thought the conclusion was worth the slow start to this journey.

#bookreview #ya #youngadult #fivestars #mostloved