Don Quixote (2000): A Film to Only Listen

I always appreciate beautiful voices... especially dramatic or deep ones. I can remember people's voices as much as their faces. Perhaps that's why I'm so fond of operas. With this preface, I'd like to introduce a film: Don Quixote (2000).

It has two excellent actors: John Lithgow and Bob Hoskins, and John Lithgow has an exquisite voice: a very talented voice actor as much as a good player.

And my dear Bob Hoskins with his cockney accent. Obviously, he was an excellent player and one of the last working class actor.

They played in a film together as Don Quixote and Sancho Panza.

Unfortunately, the film is just OK (maybe even worse!): that's a fact. The direction and script of the movie are the main issues. You can read the Arthur Lazere's article (PDF) for a precise and detailed criticisms. But what Lazere missed to notice, is the combination of two very proper chosen voices.

There is just not a better voice for Don Quixote than John Lithgow and how could anybody find a better voice for Sancho Panza than Bob Hoskins?

When I'm alone in my small room, sometimes I listen to this film while I'm doing my everyday chores.

Don Quixote is comedic, so you'll undoubtedly laugh while you are listing to the very best voice choices for Don Quixote and Sancho Panza.

Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International (CC BY-NC 4.0)

#FilmReview #DonQuixote(2000) #BobHoskins