Blogging is hard

In a week from now, it will have been a year since I started this blog on Coil. And in a day from now, I will be starting a holiday period of three weeks, which is about thrice as long as most of my holiday periods have been in the past ;).

In my opinion, holidays in lockdown conditions with young kids are a little pointless, so we bumbled along at mid-pace working conditions during periods such as Easter actually much longer than and the like. But this time the lockdown measures are much lighter, and we decided to take a few weeks proper holiday.

As for this blog, I suppose this blog entry marks the end of an unforeseen four week hiatus. But rest assured, nothing is fundamentally wrong on my side, and work-wise we even made it into a few major newspapers this week :). So why did it happen?

The month prior to my unexpected hiatus I posted quite a lot, and I found myself not so much losing inspiration, as running into practical road blocks on various sides, and ending up a notch below the motivational posting threshold on some other/older topics. Of course, a summer holiday is a good moment to sort those things out, so I do expect to get a clearer opinion on what dead ends to cut off, and where to go more in depth in Year 2.

Indeed, as the title says, blogging is hard, at least it is for me. It is hard to keep a consistent rhythm, and even harder to find that sweet spot of putting together things that energise me when I write it, yet are also enjoyable, interesting or useful to read. I didn't get it entirely right in the first year, and I actually don't need to get it right in the second year either, because blogging is a hobby project for me to begin with.

But chances are I will stroll down some different directions in the coming weeks, just because it'll be more fun that way :).

Credits

Header image from needpix.

Continue reading with a Coil membership.