Short Injury Update

Well, a brief personal update here. I went to Northwick Park Hospital yesterday to get my cast removed, and learned a lot more about my injury thanks to a very communicative and competent doctor.

Indeed, it was a full Achilles tendon rupture, and the gap between both ends was 1.1-1.3 cm three weeks ago. This time around they replaced my cast with a boot (see picture above). Surgery is not a good option, because the rupture is actually too high up for that (it's in my calf).

I cannot bear weight on the boot, and I will need to wear the boot for 8 weeks. Initially with 4 wedges in it, but then removing a wedge myself every 2 weeks.

It's a bit of a shock to be largely immobilised for such a long period, but at least I know much better what to expect now.

As for the walking, I purchased an iWalk 2.0 (see above), which I hope will help me to walk more than 100-200 meters away from the house. I'll let you all know what my experience with it is!

Continue reading with a Coil membership.