Roscoe's Story

weather

And the Thunder Rumbles ...

We're under a Severe Thunderstorm Warning for the next half hour, and a Severe Storm Risk until 07:00 tomorrow morning. Could be some dramatic weather here over night!

Posted 03/May/2021 ~ 19:55 Central Time #blog #weather


by Roscoe

SIX BELOW ZERO, and...

six below zero

... and it's going to get colder. Mercy!

Tomorrow night is supposed to be colder yet, and Wednesday is supposed to bring us more freezing rain and snow on top of the three to seven inches we have in our area presently. And...

And in addition to the Wind Chill Warning and Winter Storm WArning we're currently under, we've also got a Pollen Alert due to the high levels od cedar pollen in the air now. And...

And though Sylvia and I haven't yet been hit by them, there are rolling power blackouts in the area that are expected to continue through the duration of this extreme weather.

What a Monday!

And the adventure continues.

Posted 15/Feb/2021 ~ 06:40 Central Time #RoscoeEllis #blog #SeniorLiving #weather



by Roscoe

I will comply...

... with the directives given today by the National Weather Service in its heat advisory for San Antonio. Included in that advisory is:

The NWS encourages all to stay hydrated and to stay out of the sun if possible.

Roger that, NWS.

As a matter of fact, since we're supposed to have triple-digit temperatures here through the weekend I'll make it a point to stay inside under the a/c and maintain a good level of hydration throughout this heat spell.

The only time I have to be out over the next week is this Friday when I have a face-to-face appointment with my primary care physician. (Relax everyone. It's just a routine visit where he'll lecture me about getting more exercise and losing weight, but he'll tell me that all my lab “numbers” are very good and I'm doing fine. That's how it always goes.) And I'll be riding in an air-conditioned car to his office and back home.

And the adventure continues.


Published on 12 August 2020, ~12:10 CDT, this is my post number 55/100/365 of the https://100daystooffload.com blogging challenge.

#100DaysToOffload #blog #RoscoeEllis #Texas #weather


by Roscoe

Very good advice, this.

AirQuality

And I intend to follow it.

The National Weather Service warns me through a widget on my phone that the air quality is “Low” here in San Antonio, and I am advised to stay inside under air conditioning from 11:00 this morning until Noon tomorrow.

Luckily for me, I finished my yardwork (trimming bushes and soaking up healthy vitamin D) this morning and the only planned foray out my front door before Noon tomorrow will be to check the mailbox in a few hours.

So don't yell at me for spending so much time stretched out in my recliner. I'm only following orders, avoiding the dust blown over from Africa, and trying to stay healthy.

The adventure continues.


Published on 27 June 2020, this is my post number 38/100/365 of the https://100daystooffload.com blogging challenge.

#100DaysToOffload #SeniorLiving #health #weather


by Roscoe