Day 006 – Open water swimming

Swimming stuff.

Hanging out at the beach down by the lake when I write this. It started to rain a little while ago and we almost gave up, but one minute later is was sunny again. So we stayed. The kids can be in the water forever. It is such a joy to listen to their laughs and cheerful screaming. I got a good swim earlier and it feels in my shoulders that it’s been a winter and spring without much of swim training. I really like the open water swimming even though it takes some time to adjust to the darkness beneath you. The temperatur in the water is so warm there’s no need for a swimsuit, but I have one ready in case it gets chillier towards the end of summer. And I ordered one of these today so my wife, and myself, can feel a bit more safe when I go for a longer swim. Unfortunately it won’t be any Katrineholm swimrun this year, the swimrun race where me and my old friend Daniel ”Dala Skywalker” Eriksson use to team up. One smaller effect of the pandemic, nevertheless a pity. A race report from last year is to be found here. The lake, the gravel roads, the fields, all this nature makes me wanna be outside all the time.

**** This is the sixth day of my #100DaysToOffload challenge, which you can read more about here.