MW Cameron M. Bailey

ScottishRite

The concern that I have heard expressed most often by Lodge leaders since our Lodges have been closed has been about our candidates for the Degrees.

The widely held concern is that we have people awaiting their EA Degree, somewhere in the process of receiving the three Degrees, or in the process of the Six Steps. The worry is that if the Lodge is able to take no action, these men might give up on Masonry.

I've got a suggestion.

While it is true that our Lodges can not now meet to initiate these men, there is nothing in either the governmental guidelines or the Grand Master's edicts that says that a member of the Lodge can't sit down with them one on one and teach them about Masonry. This could certainly be done either in person, or via video conference.

Virtually every Lodge I have ever been inside of has at least half a dozen copies of the book Morals and Dogma stored somewhere. For those who are not familiar with it, Morals and Dogma is a collection of lectures for the Scottish Rite Degrees. Including the first three Degrees.

Given that they are very rarely worked, or even exemplified in the United States, many Masons do not realize that the Scottish Rite has its own versions of our first three, or Craft Degrees. Nevertheless it does, and Morals and Dogma contains extensive writings on each of these Degrees.

So, my suggestion is that a Lodge assign a Brother to work with a candidate, providing each with a copy of this book, and slowly they can work through the information it contains within those three chapters.

If it were me, I'd actually make the Preface (in newer versions this is titled 'Preface to the original edition') into the first lesson. Under the guidance of my Mentor, I read that preface as an EA, and what I learned from it has been one of the most valuable things I've learned in my entire Masonic career.

If you utilize Morals and Dogma with a candidate, please note that he will learn some things, particularly as to the items contained within a Lodge Room that he might otherwise not see until his Degree. However, he will not learn any of the secrets of the Degrees, and quite likely he would have already seen things like our Pillars while cruising around the internet, so there is little or no danger of somehow spoiling his Degrees for him, provided that the Brother leading the discussion uses some care to not divulge those things that should not be talked about.

With full knowledge and approval of my Lodge I read Morals and Dogma as I went through the Degrees, and I found that doing so enhanced, rather than detracted from my experience. I think your candidates will find the same result.

There is a tremendous amount of information contained within the three Degree chapters. Taking just a few pages at a time will lead to very lively and enlightening discussions, plus provide months of material for the Candidate to work with.

It will keep him active and engaged with Masonry, which seems to address the concerns I've heard expressed. Beyond that, the Lodge will greatly benefit because when he does eventually become a Master Mason, the man in question will be extremely well educated about his new Craft.

Benefits of course will accrue to the Brother guiding the candidate as well, for one of the very best ways to learn is to teach.

If for whatever reason your Lodge does not have copies of Morals and Dogma, copies can be purchased directly from the Scottish Rite Southern Jurisdiction in their online store. The newer version might actually prove more satisfactory because unlike the old, it contains extensive footnoting which leads to easier understanding.

It is my hope that this suggestion will prove helpful to those who currently have, and are concerned about candidates during this unique time.

#Pandemic #Candidate #ScottishRite #MoralsAndDogma #Mentoring

-Cameron

Cameron M. Bailey Past Grand Master The MW Grand Lodge F&AM of Washington

Subscribe to receive posts via email.

For years I've been telling people that membership in the Scottish Rite Research Society is the best value in all of Freemasonry.

Yesterday that was shown to be true again, so I thought I'd post the claim here.

A beautiful hard bound edition of Albert Pike's Magnum Opus showed up in my mailbox. It's a large and imposing volume, included with my yearly membership of just $55 per year.

As this post is about value, let me explain just what you get for that small cost. It starts with four issues a year of The Plumbline, a newsletter that generally covers a single topic of Masonic Education. Secondly, each year the Society publishes a hardcover book titled Heredom, it is a goodly sized volume that details a number of topics of interest to Masons. I always find Heredom to be fascinating and always find myself reading it cover to cover as soon as it arrives.

Lastly, each year the Society sends each of its members a bonus book of interest to Masons. Sometimes it is a smaller book, sometimes larger, but always something of great interest. This year, as mentioned, it was the Magnum Opus.

This book contains Pike's first revision of the Scottish Rite degree rituals from 4 to 32. I've already begun reading the lectures of each degree, and know that there will be a great deal of wisdom contained within them.

These are not precisely the degrees or lectures that we know today, between completion of the Magnum Opus and today our degrees have been revised a minimum of five different times, including by Pike himself.

In my travels around our Jurisdiction I often hear a desire for further Masonic education. The Scottish Rite Research Society is providing that education in a very big way, at a very small cost. I know that if you join, you will not regret it.

Scottish Rite Research Society

Please note that you do not have to be a Scottish Rite Mason, or even a Mason for that matter in order to join the Society.

Magnum Opus Cover

#MasonicEducation #ScottishRite #ScottishRiteResearchSociety #AlbertPike

-Cameron

Cameron M. Bailey Past Grand Master The MW Grand Lodge F&AM of Washington

Subscribe to receive posts via email.