MW Cameron M. Bailey

ScottishRiteResearchSociety

For years I've been telling people that membership in the Scottish Rite Research Society is the best value in all of Freemasonry.

Yesterday that was shown to be true again, so I thought I'd post the claim here.

A beautiful hard bound edition of Albert Pike's Magnum Opus showed up in my mailbox. It's a large and imposing volume, included with my yearly membership of just $55 per year.

As this post is about value, let me explain just what you get for that small cost. It starts with four issues a year of The Plumbline, a newsletter that generally covers a single topic of Masonic Education. Secondly, each year the Society publishes a hardcover book titled Heredom, it is a goodly sized volume that details a number of topics of interest to Masons. I always find Heredom to be fascinating and always find myself reading it cover to cover as soon as it arrives.

Lastly, each year the Society sends each of its members a bonus book of interest to Masons. Sometimes it is a smaller book, sometimes larger, but always something of great interest. This year, as mentioned, it was the Magnum Opus.

This book contains Pike's first revision of the Scottish Rite degree rituals from 4 to 32. I've already begun reading the lectures of each degree, and know that there will be a great deal of wisdom contained within them.

These are not precisely the degrees or lectures that we know today, between completion of the Magnum Opus and today our degrees have been revised a minimum of five different times, including by Pike himself.

In my travels around our Jurisdiction I often hear a desire for further Masonic education. The Scottish Rite Research Society is providing that education in a very big way, at a very small cost. I know that if you join, you will not regret it.

Scottish Rite Research Society

Please note that you do not have to be a Scottish Rite Mason, or even a Mason for that matter in order to join the Society.

Magnum Opus Cover

#MasonicEducation #ScottishRite #ScottishRiteResearchSociety #AlbertPike

-Cameron

Cameron M. Bailey Past Grand Master The MW Grand Lodge F&AM of Washington

Subscribe to receive posts via email.