Apple Pencil Stand

Pencil Stand on a blue background

I bought an iPad with an Apple Pencil 2 quite a while back, and I’ve just been storing the pencil on my nightstand. That frustrated me fairly often because the magnets in the pencil would hook onto other things I had set on the nightstand. Keys, nail clipper, that sort of thing.

Pencil Stand holding Apple Pencil 2

This morning, I was in the shop, and I had four pieces of sycamore that I had cut off another board in order to make it round. I realized that if I stacked them up and drilled a hole of the right size, I could solve my problems with the pencil.

Pencil Stand on my nightstand, holding Apple Pencil 2

So I glued the four cutoff corners into a stack, drilled a hole (11/32” at the bottom & ⅜” at the top, then I used a 17mm countersink bit to widen it out), used the belt sander and a spokeshave to make the curves more attractive to my eye, then hand sanded it up to 400 and took it to the Beall Wood Buffing System to put a quick finish on it. I think it came out pretty good, and my sweetie thinks it’s pretty too.

#woodworking

Discuss... Reply to this in the fediverse: @davepolaschek@writing.exchange