Birthday Picnic

Today we went up to the Dalton Picnic Area on the Pecos River for a picnic lunch to celebrate my birthday.

The Pecos River near the Dalton Picnic Area

I was a little worried that the smoke from the Medio Fire would make it too smoky up there, but the winds were in our favor, and the air was fairly clear.

Smiling by the river

It wasn’t anything too fancy. A couple bowls of food (I had a chef’s salad, and my sweetie had a bowl of rice, beans, corn, chicken and salsa) from the deli at the local grocery store, and a couple Mexican cokes to drink.

“There’s a pine cone on my head!”

We ate our lunches, put the cooler back in the truck, took a few photos to commemorate the day, and then headed home.

“It’s pretty out here”

We need to get out like that more often. It was good for our spirits.

Grinning by the river

#photography #NewMexico

Discuss... Reply to this in the fediverse: @davepolaschek@writing.exchange