Painting

We’ve been busy painting the past couple weeks. Well, my sweetie has been. I’ve been moving ladders and drop cloths and stuff that doesn’t involve going up and down ladders.

She got a new coat of stain on all the wood trim on our house. I don’t think the previous owners ever did that, and the wood was in pretty rough shape.

The bench that sits in our portale also needed a refresh. I knocked it together in a couple hours for a Fourth of July picnic in 2017, then coated it with a couple coats of leftover house paint. But it has been used as a workbench and saw horse over the past year, and it was looking pretty rough, too.

Our front portale, with the newly-painted bench

I rounded off the corners of the bench, removing the worst of the damage. My sweetie sanded it lightly and put on three coats of some new enamel paint we bought (40% off at Sherwin-Williams, and still $25 for a quart). We both think it makes the entry to our house a lot more appealing.

#HomeImprovement

Discuss... Reply to this in the fediverse: @davepolaschek@writing.exchange