Raven Redux

A raven, fluffing up his neck feathers

I’ve been working on this image a bit today. I bought an Epson P700 a month or so ago, and have been printing some images for my own enjoyment.

The “Carbon Black” feature in the P700 seems like just the thing to use on an image like this, but one of the things I needed to remember to do was not set the darkest black in the image to 2 or 3, so that you can see the difference between it and the next-darkest black (trying to avoid the blacks blocking up). With the Carbon Black setting, you need to have full range data for it to do its magic.

I don’t have it completely figured out, but I’m getting prints I’m happy enough about to set them aside so I can maybe frame them later. I’m glad I bought the printer, and I’m glad I’m sticking to an iOS-only workflow. It’s (re-) teaching me things I’d forgotten over the years through familiarity.

Next up on the list to relearn: “selective color” so I can punch up the yellow flowers at his feet just a tiny bit.

#photography #birb

Discuss... Reply to this in the fediverse: @davepolaschek@writing.exchange